Entrepreneurs perfect the solid-state battery

26.04.2018 von Benjamin Haerdle in Featured, Research
Employees at enspring GmbH on the Weinberg Campus are on the lookout for the ideal material for capacitors and lithium-ion batteries. They are able to take advantage of the excellent working environment and the university’s scientific expertise. Falk Lange, a PhD student at MLU and the founder of enspring, now also wants to gain a foothold in China. Hence, the story of enspring GmbH is also the story of basic researchers who have become business people active on the international stage.
Hartmut Leipner (right) and enspring employee Robert Schlegel examine a new sample coating.
Hartmut Leipner (right) and enspring employee Robert Schlegel examine a new sample coating. (Foto: Michael Deutsch)

The centrepiece of enspring is located in room 1.062 at the Technology and Founders’ Centre III. In the centre of the room stands a coating machine that is used to apply and vaporise suspensions on a thin plate. “We use artificially made polymers in the suspensions which contain nanoparticles from ceramic compounds,” explains Robert Schlegel, a coating expert at enspring. The suspension is then applied to an aluminium film and dried. The aim is to combine in components the benefits of two different materials in the form of films, enabling the highest amount of energy to be stored in the smallest area possible. The result will be high-performance capacitors that can be used, for example, in the automotive and energy industries.

Five scientists have been working on this task since enspring GmbH was founded last year in Halle. The company is a subsidiary of engroup, whose other member is in Munich. Founded by Thomas Plaschko and Egon Schubert in 2013, enfas was the first company of the group to be founded. The company advises automotive and energy sector customers in planning and developing new system solutions. “The company focuses on customized electronics for the automotive and energy industry, and on basic, application-oriented research into solid-state capacitors and solid-state lithium-ion batteries,” says enspring’s managing director, Thomas Plaschko.

Plenty of Expertise at the University

In order to expand the group’s portfolio, enspring GmbH was founded as a quasi-research and development department for capacitors and batteries. The fact that the company is located in Halle and not in Munich is no accident. Before venturing onto the free market, Falk Lange worked as a research assistant at the Interdisciplinary Centre for Material Sciences (IZM) at the University of Halle. There he conducted research for Dr Hartmut Leipner on super capacitors as part of a million-euro project funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. “The decision to found enfas and enspring was significantly marked by the urge to quickly and efficiently advance development,” says founder Falk Lange, who continues to work on his PhD at MLU.

The proximity to MLU was an important factor for the success of the spin-off. “The university has a lot of competence in the area of material research,” explains the 31-year-old. This is a key to the development of our products. MLU researcher Hartmut Leipner knows how important this link to the university is: “Companies, like enspring, can take advantage of important services offered by the IZM.” The university provides expertise in measuring technology and material science as well as access to its equipment. It facilitates joint doctoral dissertations whose findings can benefit companies. 

The start-up enspring is one of around 100 companies currently located at the technology park. Biochemists, biotechnologists, material scientists, pharmacists, as well as agricultural and nutritional scientists conduct research side-by-side. enspring also has an interdisciplinary way of working. Physicists, chemists and material scientists tinker alongside process technicians and electrical engineers. “This interdisciplinary collaboration is important because problems can be discussed from multiple angles and solutions can be found more quickly,” says enspring employee Robert Schlegel.

Next Step: China

enspring is still unable to implement industrial processes on a large scale in the lab. This requires large-scale coating equipment. Therefore, employees are first working on improving the properties of the film – and are keeping an eye out for cooperation partners, for example in the area of material analyses. The chances are good. “The sector of automotive suppliers in Central Germany has a good development trajectory, which is an important locational factor for us,” adds Schlegel.

The founders’ attention has also turned to global business. Last year the group of companies gained a foothold in China with the foundation of a new development and production site. enfas Technology aims to provide local German customers in China with its expertise, as well as offer its own storage and charging systems. “China represents one of the largest sales markets for our product portfolio,” says founder Falk Lange, who, himself, moved to Nanjing, a city with five million inhabitants. An on-site presence makes sense when entering this market. “It secures us long-term access to foreign markets and enables us to gain access to local know-how,” says the company boss. He will also personally benefit from his stay in the Far East. “This undertaking will provide me with a wealth of experience”, says Lange.

Tags

Further articles

26.04.2018 in Featured, Science

“Flexibility is our advantage”

The Weinberg Campus is a high-tech location. In the last 25 years around one billion euros has been invested in a site that is also the heart of the university’s scientific campus. The density of research institutes is high on the nearly 134-hectare site. This is accompanied by numerous successful companies that have often emerged from start-ups. Important drivers of the process are technology and founders’ centres. The first one opened in 1993 and the technology park was born. Professor Reinhard Neubert - a scientist, Prorector and entrepreneur - is one of the pioneers of this development. He talks with Ines Godazgar in an interview. Read more

26.04.2018 in Featured, Miscellaneous

Cutting-Edge Research Where Vineyards Once Grew

The area between the Heide district in Halle and the river Saale was used in the past for very different things. The land-use demarcation “vineyard” (Weinberg in German) was based on the fact that vineyards had been officially documented multiple times on this land since the 13th century. The fruit played such an important role in Mediaeval wine culture that in 1750 the chronicler Dreyhaupt compared the good wine to that of the Rhine Valley. Read more

26.04.2018 in Featured, Research

Halle’s Physicists on a Pathway to Success

Knowledge transfer is only successful when it is coupled with excellent basic research. The staff at the Institute of Physics are doing just that. The institute is not only home to three collaborative research centres (CRC) of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) and one Alexander von Humboldt professorship. Its researchers have excellent international ties and have regularly attracted notice through articles published in renowned journals. Read more

26.04.2018 in Featured

Anniversary at the Weinberg Campus: Images of the High-Tech Site

From a vineyard to a technology park: The Weinberg Campus unites the natural sciences of the University of Halle in one location. It is also home to the University Hospital and many renowned non-university research institutions. Numerous successful companies have also settled in the technology and founders’ centres. This year the campus is celebrating its 25th anniversary. Several image galleries provide an impression of the innovation location and its central buildings. Read more

Write a comment

Unsere Datenschutzerklärung finden Sie hier.

Auf unserer Webseite werden Cookies gemäß unserer Datenschutzerklärung verwendet. Wenn Sie weiter auf diesen Seiten surfen, erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Einverstanden

Gründer arbeiten am perfekten Feststoffspeicher

26.04.2018 von Benjamin Haerdle in Im Fokus, Forschung
Die Mitarbeiter der enspring GmbH auf dem Weinberg Campus sind auf der Suche nach dem optimalen Material für Kondensatoren und Li-Ion-Akkumulatoren. Sie profitieren vom guten Umfeld und auch von der wissenschaftlichen Expertise der Universität. Falk Lange, MLU-Doktorand und enspring-Gründer, will mit seiner Firma nun auch in China Fuß fassen. Und so ist die Geschichte der enspring GmbH auch die Geschichte von Grundlagenforschern, die zu international tätigen Geschäftsleuten werden.
Hartmut Leipner (rechts) und enspring-Mitarbeiter Robert Schlegel begutachten gemeinsam eine neue Beschichtungsprobe.
Hartmut Leipner (rechts) und enspring-Mitarbeiter Robert Schlegel begutachten gemeinsam eine neue Beschichtungsprobe. (Foto: Michael Deutsch)

Im Raum Nummer 1.062 des Technologie- und Gründerzentrums III befindet sich das Herzstück der Firma enspring: Mitten im Zimmer steht eine Beschichtungsmaschine, die Suspensionen auf eine dünne Platte aufträgt und verdampfen lässt. „Als Suspensionen setzen wir künstlich hergestellte Polymere ein, die Nanopartikel aus keramischen Verbindungen beinhalten“, erklärt Robert Schlegel, Beschichtungsexperte bei enspring. Die Suspension werde dann auf eine Aluminiumfolie aufgetragen und getrocknet. Das Ziel: Die Vorteile zweier unterschiedlicher Materialien in Bauelementen in Form von Folien zu verknüpfen, um damit auf einer möglichst kleinen Fläche möglichst große Energiemengen zu speichern. Am Ende sollen sehr leistungsfähige Kondensatoren stehen, zum Beispiel für die Automobil- und Energieindustrie.

Große Expertise an der Universität

Dieser Aufgabe widmen sich in Halle seit der Gründung der enspring GmbH im vergangenen Jahr insgesamt fünf Wissenschaftler. Die Firma ist eine der Tochtergesellschaften der engroup, zu der auch die enfas GmbH in München gehört. Letztere wurde als erstes Unternehmen der Gruppe 2013 von Thomas Plaschko und Egon Schubert gegründet. Das Unternehmen berät Kunden aus der Auto- und Energiebranche bei der Planung und Entwicklung von neuen Systemlösungen. „Die Firma steht für individuelle Elektronikentwicklung in Automobil- und Energieindustrie sowie für anwendungsorientierte Grundlagenforschung an Feststoff-Kondensatoren und Feststoff-Li-Ion-Akkumulatoren“, sagt enspring-Geschäftsführer Thomas Plaschko.

Um das Portfolio des Firmenverbundes zu erweitern, wurde die enspring GmbH quasi als Forschungsabteilung für Kondensatoren und Akkumulatoren gegründet. Dass der Firmensitz in Halle und nicht in München liegt, kommt dabei nicht von ungefähr: Vor seinem Schritt in die freie Wirtschaft war Falk Lange als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Interdisziplinären Zentrum für Materialwissenschaften (IZM) der Universität Halle angestellt. Dort erforschte er unter der Leitung von PD Dr. Hartmut Leipner im Rahmen einer Millionenförderung durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung sogenannte Superkondensatoren. „Die Entscheidung enfas und enspring zu gründen, war maßgeblich von dem Drang geprägt, Entwicklung effizient und schnell voran zu treiben“, sagt Gründer Falk Lange, der an der halleschen Universität weiter an seiner Promotion arbeitet.

Die Nähe zur MLU sei bei der Ausgründung ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor gewesen. „Die Universität hat eine große Kompetenz im Bereich der Materialforschung“, sagt der 31-jährige Lange. Diese stelle einen Grundbaustein für die Entwicklung der Produkte dar. Wie wichtig die Anbindung an die Universität ist, weiß auch MLU-Forscher Hartmut Leipner: „Firmen wie enspring können am IZM wichtige Servicedienste nutzen.“ Die Universität unterstütze durch messtechnische und materialwissenschaftliche Expertise, sowie durch die Nutzung von Geräten. Sie ermögliche gemeinsame Doktorarbeiten, von deren Ergebnissen die Firma profitieren könne.

Nächste Station: China

Das Start-up enspring ist eines von derzeit rund 100 Unternehmen, die im Technologiepark angesiedelt sind. Biochemiker, Biotechnologen, Materialwissenschaftler, Pharmazeuten, Agrar- und Ernährungswissenschaftler forschen hier Tür an Tür. Auch enspring ist interdisziplinär aufgestellt. Physiker, Chemiker und Materialwissenschaftler tüfteln gemeinsam mit Verfahrens- und Elektrotechnikern. „Diese interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit ist wichtig, weil man so Probleme von mehreren Perspektiven aus diskutieren kann und schneller zu Lösungen kommt“, sagt enspring-Mitarbeiter Robert Schlegel.

Noch kann enspring keine industriellen Verfahren großtechnisch im Labor umsetzen. Dafür fehlt noch eine entsprechend große Beschichtungsmaschine. Fürs Erste feilen die Mitarbeiter deswegen daran, die Folieneigenschaften zu verbessern – und sie halten nach Kooperationspartnern Ausschau, um etwa Materialanalysen durchzuführen. Die Chancen dafür stehen gut. „Der Sektor der Automobilzulieferer in Mitteldeutschland entwickelt sich sehr gut, das ist für uns ein wichtiger Standortvorteil“, so Schlegel weiter.

Das Augenmerk der Gründer richtet sich aber auch auf das internationale Geschäft. Mittlerweile hat der Firmenverbund mit der Gründung eines neuen Entwicklungs- und Produktionsstandorts seit dem vergangenen Jahr auch in China Fuß gefasst. Die enfas Technology will nicht nur den dort ansässigen deutschen Kunden ihre Expertise zur Verfügung stellen, sondern auch eigene Speicher- und Ladesysteme anbieten. „China bildet für unser Produktportfolio einen der größten Absatzmärkte“, sagt Firmengründer Lange, der selbst in die Fünf-Millionen-Einwohnerstadt Nanjing zog. Um diesen Markt zu erreichen, sei eine Präsenz vor Ort sinnvoll. „Diese sichert uns langfristig Zugang zu fremden Märkten und ermöglicht uns den Zugang zu lokalem Know-how“, sagt der Firmenchef. Und auch für ihn birgt der Aufenthalt in Fernost Neues. Lange: „Diese Aufgabe wird mir einen großen Reichtum an Erfahrungen bringen.“

Weitere Artikel zum Thema

26.04.2018 in Im Fokus, Wissenschaft

„Flexibilität ist unser Vorteil“

Hightech-Standort Weinberg Campus: Auf dem Areal, das auch Herzstück des naturwissenschaftlichen Campus der Universität ist, wurde in den vergangenen 25 Jahren rund eine Milliarde Euro investiert. Die Dichte an Forschungseinrichtungen, die sich auf dem rund 134 Hektar großen Gelände angesiedelt haben, ist hoch. Dazu kommen erfolgreiche Unternehmen, die oft aus Start-ups hervorgegangen sind. Wichtige Motoren des Prozesses sind die Technologie- und Gründerzentren. Das erste öffnete 1993, der Technologiepark war geboren. Prof. Dr. Reinhard Neubert gehört zu den Wegbereitern dieser Entwicklung – als Wissenschaftler, Prorektor und nicht zuletzt als Gründer. Im Interview spricht er darüber. Artikel lesen

26.04.2018 in Im Fokus, Varia

Einst Weinbau, jetzt Spitzenforschung

Das Areal zwischen Heide und Saale wurde in der Vergangenheit höchst unterschiedlich genutzt. Die Flurbezeichnung „Weinberg“ entstand, weil auf diesem Gebiet seit dem 13. Jahrhundert in der Tat mehrere urkundlich belegte Weinberge lagen, deren Früchte von Bedeutung für die mittelalterliche Weinkultur waren, so dass sie der Chronist Dreyhaupt 1750 sogar mit den guten Tropfen aus dem Rheintal verglich. Artikel lesen

26.04.2018 in Im Fokus, Forschung

Halles Physiker auf Erfolgskurs

Erfolgreicher Wissenstransfer funktioniert nur mit sehr guter Grundlagenforschung. Die betreiben an der Universität unter anderen die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Instituts für Physik: Dort sind nicht nur drei Sonderforschungsbereiche (SFB) der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft und eine Alexander von Humboldt-Professur angesiedelt. Die Forscherinnen und Forscher sind auch international bestens vernetzt und machen regelmäßig mit Publikationen in renommierten Fachjournalen auf sich aufmerksam. Artikel lesen

26.04.2018 in Im Fokus

Jubiläum am Weinberg Campus: Bildimpressionen vom Hightech-Standort

Vom Weinberg zum Technologiepark: Der Weinberg Campus vereint die Naturwissenschaften der Universität Halle auf einem Areal. Weiterhin ist er Standort des Universitätsklinikums und vieler renommierter Forschungseinrichtungen. Dazu kommen zahlreiche erfolgreiche Unternehmen, die sich in den Technologie- und Gründerzentren angesiedelt haben. In diesem Jahr feiert der Campus sein 25-jähriges Jubiläum. Mehrere Bildergalerien geben einen Überblick über den Innovationsstandort und seine zentralen Gebäude. Artikel lesen

Kommentar schreiben

Unsere Datenschutzerklärung finden Sie hier.

Auf unserer Webseite werden Cookies gemäß unserer Datenschutzerklärung verwendet. Wenn Sie weiter auf diesen Seiten surfen, erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Einverstanden