What is the east?

11.04.2019 von Manuela Bank-Zillmann in Science, Context
The question of the east, of what is specifically East German is discussed in politics and the feature articles of national daily newspapers. What should be explained and why? The religious scholar Professor Daniel Cyranka puts the topic into context.
prefabricated buildings in Cologne Meschenich
prefabricated buildings in Cologne Meschenich (Foto: etfoto / Fotolia)

The question “What is the east?” has to be asked, even if it often annoys people. It is a matter of how the topic is broached. In my view, “eastern Germany” (“Ostdeutschland”) is a relatively young phenomenon. After the end of the dictatorship in the GDR and the subsequent reunification, there were many descriptions and names used for the “east”. I consider “eastern Germany” to be a special, current version.

Of course, there are perceptible differences between territories of the former GDR and other areas of Germany – for example in statistical terms with regard to economic factors, private wealth or migration factors. The “new states”, the “five new states” or now “eastern Germany” are, however, often referred to as if they were a homogeneous entity with a corresponding population. Collective singular terms for “East Germans” are used, such as “Ostler”, “Ostdeutsche” or “Ossi”. Should a society that has a disparate composition be represented as a homogeneous entity? No. But that is precisely what can be observed. For example, given that religions play a smaller role, a collective lack of religion is attributed to the east. The area that has been apostrophised in this way appears in the debates as a “mission area” or as a “republic of heathens”, as it was recently referred to in one newspaper. This postulates the deviation from a norm, which was, however, only set as a norm because of the discussion of this very deviation.

Clear lines are being drawn from the “emotional blockage”, which a well-known psychotherapist diagnosed for all citizens of the DDR in 1990 in his book “Der Gefühlsstau” (emotional blockage), to the not individual, but systemic interpretation of the “East German”, which is currently being established as a homogeneous ethnic group. What are collective singular terms used for? For example to create collective explanatory models for “East German” characteristics which show themselves to be “typical”.

The attribution of a typical lack of religion can also be compared with topics such as “pre-fabricated buildings”, which seem to have existed exclusively in the GDR, an idea that is contrary to any reasonable experience. The construction of pre-fabricated buildings is shifted to the symbolic east as an aesthetic problem of housing or social policy, as if there are no satellite towns in other regions of Germany and Europe.

The reduction of what is “typically East German” (i.e. what is not West German or not entirely West German) to non-denominationalism, a lack of religion or even atheism is a massive change of the past few decades. Churches or religious communities appear to be separate from their environment and are seen alongside it as slightly atypical or even incongruous. This makes their specific context unreal, as people are either not really East German or not really religious. A contemporary who regards himself as religious faces difficulties, as there are many typically East German characteristics, but being religious is not one of them. “East German religion” almost seems like a contradiction in terms, like a fundamental contraction that is ultimately irreconcilable.

A descriptive emphasis of the typical lack of religion also provokes the following attitude: “Yes, exactly! That is our characteristic. That is typically East German!” The “republic of heathens” then appears to be a positive thing and defends itself against being a “mission territory”. This defining dichotomy, this positive and negative separation, is extremely problematical. And such dualities make the ambivalence of “east commissioners” or even “east quotas” clear.

What is the east? Current positive shifts in the attributed characteristics – “east phenomena” claimed as defining characteristics and used in the discussions – relate to processes that are taking place now, which cannot simply be inferred from history with systematic explanations, but have concrete places and functions in current debates. This is what I mean by discursive fabrications of “the east”, which can always provide a clue to very different experiences with the dictatorship.

I am constantly asking myself how we can show that “the east” or “eastern Germany” is not a natural entity that we find as a fact and must then deal with somehow. Instead, the “east”, which is apostrophised one way or another today, is something that we are all creating together on an ongoing basis, in spite of all the historical references. This makes it difficult to talk about it. What matters is the manner in which the topic is represented and the identifying characteristics are attributed. Some problems are apparently bundled together in the symbolic east and thus also kept under control – whether this is the construction of pre-fabricated buildings or other peculiarities which we cannot cope with otherwise. This should be viewed critically.

The important thing is to say very clearly: it is not a case of someone in some idea of the west sitting and pointing a finger at the east; instead, this is a shared, pan-German view and spoken attitude. “The east” does not exist; we all make it – regardless of whether we feel that we belong to it or are in opposition to it. The fact that the discursive east exists as a special, exceptional zone is, however, apparently of existential significance for pan-German debates. We must regard this as a process in which we all play a huge role by generating homogeneity for an area which is now supposed to be a whole country and is now sometimes even to be given a (new) name.

 

This article appeared in print as part of the series "Context", in which researchers of Martin Luther University explain recent topics in their respective fields, providing background and contextual information.

Daniel Cyranka
Daniel Cyranka
(Foto: Markus Scholz)

Professor Daniel Cyranka has been the professor of religious studies and intercultural theology at the University of Halle since 2012. His research work includes modern religious history, the Enlightenment and Pietism, esotericism research and the implementation of discourse theoretical approaches in these fields. An important topic for Cyranka is the relationship between post-colonialism and the “Second World”.

Contact: Professor Daniel Cyranka
Institute of Systematic Theology, Practical Theology and Religious Studies
Telephone: +49 345 55-23080
Mail: daniel.cyranka@theologie.uni-halle.de

 

Categories

ScienceContext

Tags

Write a comment

Unsere Datenschutzerklärung finden Sie hier.

Auf unserer Webseite werden Cookies gemäß unserer Datenschutzerklärung verwendet. Wenn Sie weiter auf diesen Seiten surfen, erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Einverstanden

Kontext: Was ist der Osten?

11.04.2019 von Manuela Bank-Zillmann in Wissenschaft, Kontext
Die Frage nach dem Osten, nach dem spezifisch Ostdeutschen, treibt Politik und Feuilletons überregionaler Tageszeitungen um. Was soll da erklärt werden und warum? Das Thema ordnet der Religionswissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Daniel Cyranka ein.
Plattenbauten im Kölner Ortsteil Meschenich
Plattenbauten im Kölner Ortsteil Meschenich (Foto: etfoto / Fotolia)

Die Frage „Was ist der Osten?“ muss gestellt werden, auch wenn sie oft ärgert. Es geht darum, wie man das Thema zur Sprache bringt. „Ostdeutschland“ ist in meiner Hinsicht ein relativ junges Phänomen. Nach dem Ende der Diktatur in der DDR und der späteren Wiedervereinigung haben viele Beschreibungen und Namen den „Osten“ umkreist. „Ostdeutschland“ ist eine meines Erachtens besondere, aktuelle Variante.

Selbstverständlich gibt es wahrnehmbare Unterschiede zwischen Gebieten der ehemaligen DDR und anderen Gegenden Deutschlands – etwa in statistischer Hinsicht bei Wirtschaftsfaktoren, privatem Vermögen oder bei Migrationsfaktoren. Die „Neuen Länder“, die „fünf neuen Länder“ beziehungsweise inzwischen „Ostdeutschland“ werden allerdings oft so bezeichnet, als handele es sich um eine homogene Größe mit entsprechender Bevölkerung: „Ostler“, „Ostdeutsche“ oder „der Ossi“ im Kollektivsingular. Sollte eine Gesellschaft, die sich disparat zusammensetzt, als homogene Entität repräsentiert werden? Nein. Aber genau das ist zu beobachten. Unter dem Gesichtspunkt etwa, dass Religionen eine geringere Rolle spielen, wird dem Osten gleichzeitig kollektive Religionslosigkeit eingeschrieben. Die so apostrophierte Gegend erscheint in den Debatten zum Beispiel als „Missionsgebiet“ oder als „Republik der Heiden“, wie es jüngst in einer Zeitung hieß. Damit wird die Abweichung von einer Norm postuliert, die als Norm aber erst gesetzt wird, indem man über eben diese Abweichung spricht.

Vom „Gefühlsstau“, den ein bekannter Psychotherapeut allen ehemaligen DDR-Bürgern 1990 in seinem gleichnamigen Buch diagnostizierte, bis zum nicht individuell, sondern systemisch interpretierten „Ostdeutschen“, der gerade dabei ist, als homogene Ethnie etabliert zu werden, ziehen sich klare Linien. Wofür werden Bezeichnungen im Kollektivsingular eingesetzt? Zum Beispiel, um kollektive Erklärungsmuster für „ostdeutsche“ Eigenarten zu entwerfen, die sich als „typisch“ manifestieren.

Die Zuschreibung typischer Religionslosigkeit lässt sich übrigens auch mit Themen wie „Plattenbauten“ vergleichen, die es ausschließlich in der DDR gegeben zu haben scheint, was gegen jede vernünftige Erfahrung spricht. Auch der Plattenbau wird als ästhetisches, wohnungs- oder sozialpolitisches Problem in den symbolischen Osten verschoben, als gebe es Trabantenstädte in Deutschland und Europa nicht auch in anderen Gegenden.

Die Reduktion des „typisch Ostdeutschen“ (also des Nicht-Westdeutschen oder Nicht-So-Ganz-Westdeutschen) auf Konfessionslosigkeit, Religionslosigkeit oder gar Atheismus ist ein massiver Veränderungsprozess der letzten Jahrzehnte. Kirchen oder Religionsgemeinschaften erscheinen als von ihrem jeweiligen Umfeld getrennt und stehen ihm als etwas Untypisches oder gar Unpassendes gegenüber. Ihr spezifischer Kontext wird damit uneigentlich, denn entweder man ist nicht richtig ostdeutsch oder man ist nicht richtig religiös. Ein sich religiös verstehender Zeitgenosse hat es da eher schwer, denn typisch ostdeutsch ist vieles, nicht aber religiös zu sein. „Ostdeutsche Religion“ wirkt beinahe wie eine contradictio in adiecto, wie ein grundsätzlicher Widerspruch, letztlich unvereinbar.

Auch eine deskriptive Betonung der typischen Religionslosigkeit provoziert eine Haltung, die lautet: „Ja, genau! Das ist unsere Eigenheit. Das ist typisch ostdeutsch!“. Die „Republik der Heiden“ erscheint dann als positiv und wehrt sich gleichzeitig dagegen, „Missionsgebiet“ zu sein. Diese abgrenzende Dichotomisierung, diese positiv wie negativ identifizierende Trennung ist hoch problematisch. Und solche doppelten Vorgänge machen auch die Ambivalenz von „Ost-Beauftragten“ oder gar „Ost-Quoten“ deutlich.

Was ist der Osten? Heutige Wendungen des Zugeschriebenen ins Positive – als abgrenzendes Eigenes behauptete und diskursiv eingesetzte „Ost-Phänomene“ – sind jetzt stattfindende Vorgänge, die sich nicht einfach mit systemischen Erklärungen aus der Geschichte herleiten lassen, sondern in derzeitigen Debatten konkrete Orte und Funktionen haben. Das meine ich mit diskursiven Erzeugungen „des Ostens“, die immer auch einen Anhalt an sehr unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen mit der Diktatur haben können.

Ich frage mich immer wieder, wie man sichtbar machen kann, dass „der Osten“, dass „Ostdeutschland“ keine naturwüchsige Größe ist, die man als Gegebenheit vorfindet und mit der man dann irgendwie fertigwerden muss, sondern dass der heute so oder so apostrophierte „Osten“ trotz aller historischen Bezüge etwas ist, was wir alle miteinander permanent erzeugen. Das macht es schwer, darüber zu reden. Es geht um die Art und Weise, in der das Thema repräsentiert und identifizierend eingeschrieben wird. Manche Probleme werden offenbar am symbolischen Osten gebündelt und damit auch gebändigt – sei es der Plattenbau oder seien es andere Merkwürdigkeiten, denen man nicht anders beikommt. Das ist kritisch wahrzunehmen.

Wichtig ist dabei, ganz klar zu sagen: Es geht nicht etwa darum, dass irgendjemand in einem irgendwie gedachten Westen sitzt und mit einem Finger auf den Osten zeigt, sondern darum, dass dies eine gemeinsame, eine diskursiv gesamtdeutsche Sicht und Sprechhaltung ist. „Den Osten“ gibt es nicht, wir alle machen ihn – unabhängig davon, ob wir uns ihm zugehörig fühlen oder uns ihm gegenüber sehen. Dass es den diskursiven Osten als besondere, als exzeptionelle Zone gibt, ist für gesamtdeutsche Debatten aber offensichtlich existenziell wichtig. Wir müssen das als einen Vorgang wahrnehmen, an dem wir alle massiv beteiligt sind, indem wir Homogenität für eine Gegend erzeugen, die inzwischen ein ganzes Land sein soll, dem inzwischen manchmal sogar ein (neuer) Name gegeben wird.

Der Text stammt aus der Print-Ausgabe des Wissenschaftsmagazins "scientia halensis" und steht in der Rubrik „Kontext“. Darin setzen sich Wissenschaftler der Martin- Luther-Universität mit einem aktuellen Thema aus ihrem Fach auseinander, erklären die Hintergründe und ordnen es in einen größeren Zusammenhang ein.

 

Daniel Cyranka
Daniel Cyranka
(Foto: Markus Scholz)

Prof. Dr. Daniel Cyranka ist seit 2012 Professor für Religionswissenschaft und interkulturelle Theologie an der Universität Halle. Zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten zählen moderne Religionsgeschichte, Aufklärung und Pietismus, Esoterikforschung sowie die Implementierung diskurstheoretischer Ansätze in diese Themenfelder. Ein wesentliches Thema für Cyranka ist das Verhältnis von Postkolonialismus und „Zweiter Welt“.

Kontakt:
Prof. Dr. Daniel Cyranka
Institut für Systematische Theologie, Praktische Theologie und Religionswissenschaft
Tel. +49 345 55-23080
Mail: daniel.cyranka@theologie.uni-halle.de

Schlagwörter

Religion

Kommentar schreiben

Unsere Datenschutzerklärung finden Sie hier.

Auf unserer Webseite werden Cookies gemäß unserer Datenschutzerklärung verwendet. Wenn Sie weiter auf diesen Seiten surfen, erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Einverstanden