Big Names: Georg Cantor

19.04.2018 von Ines Godazgar in Miscellaneous, Big Names
The name “Georg Cantor” might not mean a great deal to a lot of people, yet the professor, who once worked in the City of Halle, is one of the most prominent mathematicians who has ever lived. We have Cantor to thank for set theory, as well as the definition of infinity. Even the genius Albert Einstein expressed his appreciation for Cantor’s abilities. The University’s history connects it to many well-known figures or big ideas. Not everyone, however, is fully clued up on the whys and wherefores of these connections. But that’s about to change. The section, “Big Names” is a reminder of the outstanding researchers and academics who have links to the City of Halle.
This is the bust of Georg Cantor. It was donated to the University by Cantor’s family following his death.
This is the bust of Georg Cantor. It was donated to the University by Cantor’s family following his death. (Foto: Friederike Stecklum)

Had there been a Nobel Prize for mathematics, Georg Cantor would quite certainly have been a contender. Unfortunately, however, the Prize simply isn’t awarded within this category. Even the Fields Medal and the Abel Prize, both the highest of accolades, which are now awarded to mathematicians as an equivalent for the Nobel Prize, were not awarded during Cantor’s lifetime. And so unfortunately, his genius was never recognised in this way.

Having said that, an opera was later written in Cantor’s honour and in the City of Halle there is a street and a school which specialises in mathematics, both of which carry his name. The Institute for Mathematics at Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg (MLU) is of course housed in the “Georg-Cantor-Haus”. In 2007, the well-known American author David Foster Wallace created a memorial to Cantor in the form of a book. “Georg Cantor. Der Jahrhundertmathematiker und die Entdeckung des Unendlichen” is the German title of the book, “Everything and More: A Compact History of Infinity”, a non-fiction narrative in which Foster Wallace, also a highly talented mathematician, tries to pin down the concept of infinity. This is an aim which Cantor himself pursued intensively during his time at the University of Halle.

Cantor had almost achieved his aim, and was apparently preparing to move away from the City of Halle. It would seem that his position was not particularly well paid. Cantor was not at least earning enough to provide for his wife and six children – four girls and two boys – and sustain the living standard he desired. So Cantor began looking for alternatives. He had already built a family home in 1885, today 13 Händelstraße, which he moved into a year later. But money continued to be tight. Cantor’s letters reveal just how dissatisfied he was with this situation. The letters also reveal that Cantor applied for positions at other universities. It was solely because he was not wanted at these other universities that Cantor remained at the University of Halle. The great mathematician thus spent almost the entirety of his academic life in the city.

Georg Ferdinand Ludwig Philipp Cantor, born on 3 March 1845, in St. Petersburg, to a stockbroker and his wife, is recognised today as having invented set theory. From 1862, Cantor studied mathematics in Zurich, Gottingen and Berlin, where in 1867, having written a thesis on number theory, he gained a PhD. In 1869 he qualified to teach at the University of Halle, where he later taught as a private professor. In 1877, he was given full professorship.

Cantor’s central works which served to establish set theory were completed in the City of Halle between 1879 and 1884. By the end of the nineteenth century, this theory was of primary interest within the field of mathematics. The ideas, methods and theories which Cantor contributed to this area were new and at the time, many of his contemporaries failed to correctly understand Cantor’s work, some of them even rejecting it.

Cantor’s family home continued to serve as a popular meeting place for many members of the University, whereby Cantor hosted numerous salon parties at which the man of the house would accompany his wife Vally, a trained singer and pianist, on the violin. But Cantor was deeply depressed by the fact that his work had not been properly understood. When Cantor’s youngest son died in 1884, Cantor experienced a nervous breakdown and following this, continued to suffer from depression.

The value of his mathematical works begun to be recognised only after his mental difficulties had begun to impact on his ability work. Indeed, the full significance of his contributions was fully recognised only after his death. The mathematician David Hilbert later wrote to one of Cantor’s daughters, “Only a few days ago, I had the opportunity to learn how great an impact your father’s work can have on a congenial nature. Whilst in Berlin, I challenged Einstein in regards the classical procedures in view of the evidence presented by your father, to show that irrational numbers cannot be discounted. And Einstein, who understood everything quite immediately, was quite overcome by the enormity of these ideas...”

Cantor loved the essence of mathematics. This is, he once said, to be found “in its freedom”. He made use of the possibilities that this exact science offers those who are capable of it, of functioning within these higher spheres. This is an occupation, which need not culminate in the completion of a task. Or, as Cantor put it, “in mathematics, the art of asking a question is more valuable than solving problems.”

In 1913, Cantor became an emeritus professor. He died more than 100 years ago, on 6 January 1918 in a sanatorium in the City of Halle. This year, the anniversary of his death was also honoured at MLU. The festivities were a timely occasion on which to once again commemorate his brilliance. Karin Richter, Professor at the Institute of Mathematics, said: “Cantor opened our eyes to a new universe of numbers, and so laid the foundations for mathematics as we know it today.”

Tags

Write a comment

Auf unserer Webseite werden Cookies gemäß unserer Datenschutzerklärung verwendet. Wenn Sie weiter auf diesen Seiten surfen, erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Einverstanden

Große Namen: Georg Cantor

19.04.2018 von Ines Godazgar in Varia, Große Namen
Auch, wenn nicht jeder sofort etwas mit seinem Namen anzufangen weiß: Der einstige hallesche Professor Georg Cantor war und ist einer der bedeutendsten Mathematiker, die je gelebt haben. Die Welt verdankt ihm die Mengenlehre und eine Definition des Unendlichen. Selbst das Universalgenie Albert Einstein schätzte seinen Scharfsinn. Die Geschichte der Universität ist mit vielen bekannten Namen oder großen Ideen verbunden. Nicht immer hat jeder sofort die Fakten parat, die sich dahinter verbergen. Das soll sich an dieser Stelle ändern: Die Rubrik "Große Namen" erinnert an herausragende Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Halle.
Die Büste zeigt Georg Cantor. Seine Familie schenkte sie nach seinem Tod der Universität.
Die Büste zeigt Georg Cantor. Seine Familie schenkte sie nach seinem Tod der Universität. (Foto: Friederike Stecklum)

Gäbe es einen Nobelpreis für Mathematik, Georg Cantor wäre sicher ein Anwärter darauf gewesen. Doch leider war und ist die begehrte Ehrung in dieser Kategorie schlicht nicht vorgesehen. Auch die Fields-Medaille und der Abel-Preis, jene beiden höchsten Weihen, die inzwischen als Pendant zum Nobelpreis an Mathematiker vergeben werden, waren zu Cantors Lebzeiten noch nicht gestiftet. Und so ging das Genie in diesem Punkt zwangsläufig leer aus.

Später wurde immerhin eine Oper für Cantor geschrieben, in Halle tragen darüber hinaus eine Straße und ein Gymnasium mit mathematischem Schwerpunkt seinen Namen. Und das Institut für Mathematik der MLU ist selbstredend im Georg-Cantor-Haus untergebracht. Zudem setzte ihm 2007 der große amerikanische Schriftsteller David Foster Wallace ein Denkmal in Buchform. „Georg Cantor. Der Jahrhundertmathematiker und die Entdeckung des Unendlichen“ – so lautet der deutsche Titel des in Erzählform angelegten Sachbuchs, in dem der ebenfalls mathematisch hochbegabte Foster Wallace versucht, den Begriff des Unendlichen zu fassen. Ein Terminus übrigens, mit dem sich Cantor seinerzeit an der halleschen Universität intensiv beschäftigte.

Dabei hätte nicht viel gefehlt, und Cantor wäre einst schnell wieder aus der Saalestadt weggezogen. Denn seine Stelle wurde offenbar nicht gut bezahlt. Jedenfalls nicht gut genug, damit er seine Frau und die sechs Kinder – vier Mädchen und zwei Jungen – seinem Stand gemäß versorgen konnte. Und so schaute sich Cantor nach Alternativen um. Zwar hatte er bereits 1885 in der heutigen Händelstraße 13 ein Wohnhaus gebaut, in das er ein Jahr später einzog. Doch das Geld war weiterhin knapp. Die Unzufriedenheit über diesen Zustand, das lässt sich anhand von Briefen nachvollziehen, war groß. Belegt ist darin auch die Tatsache, dass er sich an anderen Hochschulen bewarb. Einzig der Umstand, dass man ihn dort offenbar nicht haben wollte, hat wohl dafür gesorgt, dass er der Universität Halle erhalten blieb. Und so kam es, dass der große und geniale Mathematiker nahezu sein gesamtes akademisches Leben in der Saalestadt verbrachte.

Georg Ferdinand Ludwig Philipp Cantor, geboren am 3. März 1845 als Sohn eines Börsenmaklers und seiner Frau in St. Petersburg, gilt noch heute als Begründer der Mengenlehre. Ab 1862 studierte er Mathematik in Zürich, Göttingen und Berlin, wo er 1867 mit einer Arbeit über Zahlentheorie promoviert wurde. Es folgte 1869 die ­Habilitation an der Universität Halle, wo er im Anschluss zunächst als Privatdozent lehrte. 1877 wurde er schließlich auf eine ordentliche Professur berufen.
In Halle erschienen zwischen 1879 und 1884 auch Cantors Hauptarbeiten zur Begründung der Mengenlehre. Bereits Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts stand sie im Vordergrund des mathematischen Interesses. Die Ideen, Methoden und Theorien, die Cantor hierzu geliefert hat, waren neu und wurden von vielen Zeitgenossen nicht richtig verstanden, ja zum Teil sogar abgelehnt.

Und obwohl das Haus der Familie Cantor bis dato ein beliebter Treffpunkt für viele Angehörige der Universität war, in dem es Salon-Abende gab – auf denen der Hausherr seine Frau Vally, eine ausgebildete Sängerin und Pianistin, auf der Violine begleitete – deprimierte ihn die Tatsache, dass seine Arbeiten nicht richtig verstanden wurden, zutiefst. Als dann 1884 auch noch sein jüngster Sohn starb, erlitt Cantor einen Nervenzusammenbruch und litt fortan unter Depressionen.
Die vollständige Würdigung seiner mathematischen Arbeiten setzte indes erst in den Jahren ein, in denen sein Arbeitsvermögen aufgrund seiner psychischen Erkrankung bereits gehemmt war. Die volle Bedeutung wurde sogar erst nach seinem Tod vollständig anerkannt. So schrieb der Mathematiker David Hilbert später an eine von Cantors Töchtern: „Gerade vor einigen Tagen hatte ich Gelegenheit, zu erfahren, wie stark die Lehren Ihres Vaters auf eine kongeniale Natur wirken. Ich setzte Einstein auf meinem Besuch bei ihm in Berlin das klassische Verfahren auseinander, wie Ihr Vater die Unmöglichkeit bewiesen hat, die irrationalen Zahlen abzuzählen. Und Einstein, der alles sofort erfasste, war ganz überwältigt von der Großartigkeit dieser Gedanken…“

Cantor selbst liebte das Wesen der Mathematik. Es liege, so sagte er einmal, „in ihrer Freiheit“ begründet. Er nutzte die Möglichkeiten, die diese exakte Wissenschaft all jenen eröffnet, die in der Lage sind, sich auch noch in ihren höheren Sphären leichtfüßig zurechtzufinden. – Eine Beschäftigung, die nicht immer sofort mit der Vollendung einer Aufgabe enden muss. Oder wie Cantor es formulierte: „In der Mathematik ist die Kunst, eine Frage zu stellen, höher zu bewerten als die Kunst, sie zu lösen.“

1913 wurde Cantor emeritiert. Er starb vor nunmehr 100 Jahren, am 6. Januar 1918 in einem halleschen Sanatorium. Sein diesjähriger Todestag wurde auch an der Universität eingehend gewürdigt. Anlässlich der Feierlichkeiten wurde noch einmal an seine Genialität erinnert. Dr. Karin Richter, Professorin am Institut für Mathematik: „Cantor öffnete den Blick für ein neues Zahlenuniversum und legte damit die Grundlage für die heutige Mathematik“.

Schlagwörter

Kommentar schreiben