Letters from the belligerent spirit

23.04.2018 von Ines Godazgar in Science, Research
There is barely another name which is so strongly associated with the German Early Enlightenment than that of Christian Thomasius. The work of the professor, who once taught in the City of Halle, has already been the subject of much academic work. The first volume of his letters has now been completed. Looking at this volume, it becomes clear that it is only by considering these historical sources, that we can understand the world and the essence of the argumentative jurist.
For their project, Martin Kühnel, project leader Martin Grunert, Matthias Hambrock and Andrea Thiele (left to right) use historical sources, which have been taken from different archives and libraries.
For their project, Martin Kühnel, project leader Martin Grunert, Matthias Hambrock and Andrea Thiele (left to right) use historical sources, which have been taken from different archives and libraries. (Foto: Michael Deutsch)

If one were to judge Christian Thomasius on the quality of his correspondence, one would most probably use less than complimentary terms to describe him. In stark contrast to his contemporary Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz, who considered crafting letters to be a significant, constituent part of his work, the influential intellectual Thomasius often considered this task rather onerous. When it came to replying to, or archiving correspondence therefore, Thomasius was negligent. Unsurprisingly, those with whom he exchanged letters would at times complain about Thomasius’ late replies, or indeed, about responses which never came.

With this in mind, it seems rather surprising that the first of four volumes containing the professor’s letters is now available at Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg (MLU). The volume contains all correspondence written or received by Thomasius between 1679 and 1692. To be more precise, the volume contains 268 letters, which, despite the tardiness described above, have remained intact for posterity.

In total, there are 1200 examples of correspondence, which the project leader Dr Frank Grunert and his colleagues, the historian Dr Matthias Hambrock and the political scientist Dr Martin Kühnel from the Interdisciplinary Centre for European Enlightenment Studies (Interdisziplinäres Zentrum für die Erforschung der Europäischen Aufklärung, IZEA), have been collating and reconstructing since 2010. The majority of letters originate from different archives and libraries in locations including Copenhagen, Hamburg, Berlin and, of course, the City of Halle. The letters have been divided into four volumes, which will be rounded off with a biographical dictionary.

“The letters reveal an exciting picture of the everyday life of an academic. And they show which topics really concerned Thomasius,” explains co-editor Frank Grunert. The group have been able to access parts of Thomasius’ correspondence with academic colleagues, as well as institutions. This includes a letter that Thomasius received from the council of the City of Halle in August 1690. In the letter, the city elders try to explain to the professor, who was living in the City of Halle, and who had already fallen into disfavour at the University of Leipzig, why he could not hold his lectures in the local “Ratswaage”. This building was used for both weddings and local meetings, as well as theatre performances. And although the German in which the letter was first formulated sounds somewhat strange to today’s reader, the degree of reservation and unwilling with which the message is expressed is still obvious 300 years later.

On multiple occasions throughout the volume it becomes clear that Thomasius was an argumentative individual, who made no effort to avoid confrontation. What’s particularly clear is that more often than not, his letters concern arguments or disputes. These arguments are voiced with a clarity and directness, which would be quite shocking for us today. A typical example of this is the letter which Thomasius addressed to the clergy of Leipzig, the so-called “Geistliche Ministerium”, on 3 July 1689. In this letter, he classifies the members of the clergy according to their propensity to engage in disputes or conflicts. Thomasius hereby places the theologian August Pfeiffer in the worst category. Writing in archaic German, Thomasius explains that Pfeiffer has vilified him, spending almost an hour deriding him, describing him as a villain and rogue to his listeners, “bey nahe eine gantze Stunde auff mich nahmentlich gelästert, und mich als den ärgsten Schurcken ausgemachet”. As such, Thomasius considers it quite impossible that he would ever come to any kind of agreement with Pfeiffer.

Some of the letters, however, prove that Thomasius has a softer side. This becomes quite clear, for example, when it comes to Thomasius’ own professional situation. One sees just how uncertain Thomasius could be. This becomes acutely clear in the letter Thomasius wrote on 15 March 1690 to his former teacher Johann Christoph Becmann in Frankfurt. Thomasius outlines his concern that he would be banned from publishing or teaching in Leipzig. It is quite clear that Thomasius did not have a “plan B” when it came to his existential problems.

Christian Thomasius shown in a painting which is owned by the University.
Christian Thomasius shown in a painting which is owned by the University.
(Foto: Markus Scholz)

By bringing together these complex and multidimensional texts, the team at IZEA have achieved what the historian Matthias Hambrock has referred to as, “painstaking detective work”. With each and every letter, one encounters wholly new ground. One cannot simply take these sources at face value, looking only at the language used. In many cases, the context must be also be researched in minute detail. The material can then, “literally explode in your fingers” explains Martin Kühnel, who completed his PhD in the political thinking of Christian Thomasius at the MLU.

If for example, unknown names, or locations crop up in the letters, the team seek to identify these. Thanks to better search algorithms in digital search engines, a lot more is possible today. One must ensure, however, that nothing is lost in this process. In any case, examining the text in such detail that it “speaks” to its reader, requires a huge deal of time and effort, explains Frank Grunert, who as a philosophical historian began studying Christian Thomasius back in the 1980s during his studies at the University of Munster, later completing a PhD in this topic.

The quality of the digitised resources with which the team work can vary considerably. Some of the texts are marked by flecks, or show signs of ink erosion, which means they can be read only in part. In some cases, the researchers’ work is made difficult by the handwriting, or other idiosyncrasies of the letters’ writers. Indeed, certain writers use typography to get across particular messages to their reader. So for example, if an entire passage of text is written in uppercase, or in particularly large lettering, it indicates that it concerns highly regarding persons, or even God.

The researchers face a further challenge in that the German correspondence doesn’t follow orthographic rules. This makes it even more difficult to work out the intended pronunciation. In the past, it was also quite usual to incorporate foreign influences from Latin or French. “In these cases, our work is a wholly communicative process” says Martin Kühnel. In cases of doubt, the team need to discuss things as a group and find a way to clearly document the particularities of the text.

The ambitious project got off the ground in 2010. The academic community had agreed long before this, however, that a series of volumes containing Thomasius’ letters would be worth creating. Such a collection would contribute to a better understanding of the great philosophers of the Enlightenment and was long overdue. The project had been suggested as early as in 1955, by the legal historian Professor Rolf Lieberwirth, who was teaching at MLU at that time. Lieberwirth, now aged 97, has lived to see the completion of the first of the four volumes. Despite his health, Lieberwirth continues to contribute to the ongoing progression of the project. The second volume is set to be completed later this year. And the team are already working on the third volume. However, in September 2019, funding which the project has so far received from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) will come to an end. As project leader Grunert explains, “Given what we have achieved so far, we are confident that we’ll be able to bring the project to an end within the foreseeable future.”

Thomasius found refuge in the City of Halle

Christian Thomasius (1655 to 1728) was a jurist and philosopher. Through his intellectual authority, the academic, born in Leipzig, became a leading figure of the Early Enlightenment Movement in Germany. Thomasius supported the concept of a humane penal order, and played a role in the abolition of witch trials and torture. In March 1690, Thomasius was prohibited from teaching or publishing in Leipzig, and so he relocated to the City of Halle, which then belonged to the German state of Brandenburg. He there became a co-founder of the Faculty of Law of the University of Halle (Friedrichs-Universität Halle), which was established in 1694. Thomasius’ grave is to be found in the Stadtgottesacker cemetery in the City of Halle. The University’s Thomasianum building, located at the Universitätsplatz, is also named after the academic.

Dr. Frank Grunert
Interdisciplinary Centre for European Enlightenment Studies
Phone: +49 345 55-21773
E-Mail: frank.grunert@izea.uni-halle.de

Categories

ScienceResearch

Tags

Write a comment

Unsere Datenschutzerklärung finden Sie hier.

Auf unserer Webseite werden Cookies gemäß unserer Datenschutzerklärung verwendet. Wenn Sie weiter auf diesen Seiten surfen, erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Einverstanden

Briefe vom streitbaren Geist

23.04.2018 von Ines Godazgar in Wissenschaft, Forschung
Kaum ein anderer Name ist so eng mit der deutschen Frühaufklärung verbunden wie der von Christian Thomasius. Das Werk des einstigen halleschen Professors wurde in der Vergangenheit bereits umfangreich wissenschaftlich aufgearbeitet. Jetzt ist der erste Band seines Briefwechsels erschienen. Darin zeigt sich: Erst durch die Erschließung dieser Quellen werden Welt und Wesen des streitbaren Juristen plastisch.
Für ihr Projekt nutzen Dr. Martin Kühnel, Projektleiter Dr. Frank Grunert, Dr. Matthias Hambrock sowie Dr. Andrea Thiele (v.l.) Quellen, die zuvor aus Archiven und Bibliotheken zusammengetragen wurden.
Für ihr Projekt nutzen Dr. Martin Kühnel, Projektleiter Dr. Frank Grunert, Dr. Matthias Hambrock sowie Dr. Andrea Thiele (v.l.) Quellen, die zuvor aus Archiven und Bibliotheken zusammengetragen wurden. (Foto: Michael Deutsch)

Würde man an den Briefeschreiber Christian Thomasius die Maßstäbe guter Korrespondenz anlegen, hätte man für ihn wohl eher wenig schmeichelhaftes Vokabular parat: Ganz im Gegensatz zu seinem Zeitgenossen Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz, der das Formulieren von Briefen als festen Bestandteil seines Schaffens begriff, war diese Tätigkeit dem einflussreichen Intellektuellen Thomasius oft lästig. Entsprechend nachlässig war er bei der Beantwortung und auch bei der Archivierung seiner Korrespondenz. Und so kam es, dass sich seine Briefpartner bisweilen über zu spät erhaltene oder gänzlich fehlende Antworten beklagten.

Vor diesem Hintergrund erscheint die Tatsache durchaus erstaunlich, dass nun an der MLU der erste von vier Bänden mit Briefen des Gelehrten vorgelegt wurde. Er umfasst die Korrespondenz, die Thomasius zwischen den Jahren 1679 und 1692 geschrieben oder empfangen hat, genauer: 268 Briefe, die trotz der eingangs beschriebenen Säumigkeit für die Nachwelt erhalten geblieben sind.

Insgesamt 1200 Exemplare umfasst der gesamte Fundus, den Projektleiter Dr. Frank Grunert und seine Mitarbeiter – der Historiker Dr. Matthias Hambrock und der Politologe Dr. Martin Kühnel – vom Interdisziplinären Zentrum für die Erforschung der Europäischen Aufklärung (IZEA) seit 2010 zusammengetragen und rekonstruiert haben. Der Großteil der Briefe stammt aus verschiedenen Archiven und Bibliotheken unter anderen in Kopenhagen, Hamburg, Berlin und nicht zuletzt in Halle. Die gesamte Edition ist auf vier Bände angelegt, die zum Schluss durch ein Personenlexikon vervollständigt werden soll.

„Die Briefe legen ein spannendes Bild des akademischen Alltags jener Zeit frei. Und sie zeigen auch, welche Themen Thomasius tatsächlich umtrieben“, sagt Mitherausgeber Frank Grunert. Enthalten sind Teile seiner Korrespondenz mit akademischen Kollegen, aber auch mit Institutionen. So etwa ein Brief, den er im August 1690 vom Rat der Stadt Halle erhielt. Darin versuchen die halleschen Stadtväter dem aufsässigen Gelehrten, der zuvor bereits an der Universität Leipzig in Ungnade gefallen war, zu erklären, warum er seine Vorlesungen unmöglich in der hiesigen Ratswaage halten könne: Das Haus werde nämlich sowohl für Hochzeiten als auch für Zusammenkünfte der Bürgerschaft, ja sogar für die Vorstellungen von Komödianten gebraucht. Und obwohl das Deutsch, in dem der Brief einst formuliert wurde, für heutige Leser durchaus ungewohnt klingt, so schimmern die Reserviertheit und der Unwillen immer noch durch, mit denen die Botschaft vor mehr als 300 Jahren formuliert worden ist.

Deutlich wird im Band immer wieder auch, dass Thomasius ein streitbarer Geist war, der keiner Auseinandersetzung aus dem Weg zu gehen schien. Was sich in den Briefen vor allem darin zeigt, dass sie nicht selten Streitigkeiten zum Thema haben. Und auch darin, dass diese in einer Deutlichkeit ausgetragen wurden, wie es heute eher unüblich wäre. Geradezu exemplarisch dafür steht ein Brief vom 3. Juli 1689, den Thomasius an die Leipziger Stadtgeistlichkeit, das so genannte Geistliche Ministerium, schrieb. Darin ordnet er die dortigen Mitglieder zunächst ihrem Konfliktpotenzial nach in verschiedene Klassen ein. Dabei sortierte er den Theologen August Pfeiffer in die schlimmste Kategorie. Jener habe ihn „geschmähet“ und „bey nahe eine gantze Stunde auff mich nahmentlich gelästert, und mich als den ärgsten Schurcken ausgemachet“, weswegen Thomasius jegliche Einigung mit Pfeiffer für unmöglich hielt.

Und schließlich belegen einige Briefe, dass Thomasius durchaus eine schwache Seite besaß. Etwa, wenn es um seine eigene berufliche Situation ging. Dann offenbarte sich, wie unsicher er sein konnte. Deutlich wird das zum Beispiel in einem Brief vom 15. März 1690 an seinen früheren Lehrer Johann Christoph Becmann in Frankfurt an der Oder. Darin schilderte Thomasius seine Besorgnis, nachdem man in Leipzig gegen ihn ein Publikations- und Lehrverbot verhängt hatte. Hinter den Äußerungen tritt deutlich zu Tage, dass Thomasius für diese, seine existenziellen Probleme nicht wirklich einen „Plan B“ hatte.
 

Christian Thomasius auf einem Gemälde, das in Besitz der Universität ist.
Christian Thomasius auf einem Gemälde, das in Besitz der Universität ist.
(Foto: Markus Scholz)

Bei der Erschließung der vielschichtigen Texte leistet das Team vom IZEA etwas, das Historiker Matthias Hambrock „als detektivische Kleinarbeit“ bezeichnet. Schließlich befinde man sich bei jedem Brief auf unbekanntem Gelände. Und so reiche es nicht aus, die Quellen lediglich sprachlich zu entziffern, auch der jeweilige Kontext müsse im Einzelfall akribisch recherchiert werden. Dabei könne es durchaus passieren, „dass einem das Material buchstäblich unter den Fingern explodiert“, meint Martin Kühnel, der an der MLU über das politische Denken bei Christian Thomasius promoviert wurde.

Tauchen in den Briefen zum Beispiel unbekannte Namen oder Schauplätze auf, wird versucht, sie zu verorten. Dank besserer Such-Algorithmen in digitalen Suchmaschinen sei dabei heutzutage vieles möglich geworden. Aufpassen müsse man allerdings, dass man sich in diesem Prozess nicht verliere. In jedem Fall bleibe der Aufwand, die Texte zum „Sprechen“ zu bringen, enorm hoch, ergänzt Frank Grunert, der sich als Philosophiehistoriker schon seit seiner Studienzeit Ende der 1980er Jahre an der Uni Münster intensiv mit Christian Thomasius beschäftigt und ebenfalls über diesen promoviert wurde.

Die für die Bearbeitung vollständig digitalisierten Quellen liegen in sehr unterschiedlicher Qualität vor. Einige enthalten Flecken oder sind von Tintenfraß gezeichnet, so dass sie nur noch eingeschränkt lesbar sind. Bei anderen sind es schlicht die schwer zu entziffernde Handschrift oder individuelle Eigenheiten der einstigen Autoren, die für die Wissenschaftler eine Herausforderung darstellen. So nutzten einige Schreiber jener Zeit auch das Schriftbild zum Transport von Botschaften. Etwa dann, wenn sie ganze Textpassagen in Versalien oder besonders großer Schrift darstellten, sobald in den Briefen die Rede von hochgestellten Persönlichkeiten oder gar von Gott war.

Eine weitere Schwierigkeit: Die deutschsprachige Korrespondenz jener Zeit kommt ohne orthografische Regeln aus, was die Entzifferung des Wortlauts gelegentlich zusätzlich erschwert. Ebenfalls üblich für jene Zeit sind fremdsprachige Einschübe in Latein oder Französisch. „Unsere Arbeit ist in diesen Fällen ein überaus kommunikativer Prozess“, sagt Martin Kühnel. Denn nur in der gemeinsamen Diskussion lassen sich Zweifelsfälle klären und ein Weg finden, wie aufgefundene Besonderheiten in der Edition anschaulich dokumentiert werden können.

Bereits 2010 fiel der Startschuss für das ambitionierte Projekt. Lange zuvor bestand in der Wissenschaftsgemeinde Einigkeit darüber, dass eine Edition von Thomasius’ Briefwechsel wünschenswert und für das bessere Verständnis des großen Aufklärers auch längst überfällig sei. Schon 1955 war sie von dem damals an der MLU lehrenden Rechtshistoriker Prof. Dr. Rolf Lieberwirth angeregt worden. Immerhin hat Lieberwirth, inzwischen 97 Jahre alt, das Erscheinen des ersten Bandes noch erlebt. Bis heute nimmt er trotz gesundheitlicher Einschränkungen Anteil am Fortgang der Arbeiten. Noch in diesem Jahr soll der zweite Teil erscheinen. Und auch an Band drei wird bereits gearbeitet. Jedoch: Im September 2019 endet die bisherige Finanzierung durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft. Projektleiter Grunert: „Angesichts des bisher Geleisteten sind wir zuversichtlich, dass wir das Projekt in absehbarer Zeit zu Ende führen können.“

Thomasius fand Zuflucht in Halle

Christian Thomasius (1655 bis 1728) war Jurist und Philosoph. Durch seine intellektuelle Autorität wurde der in Leipzig geborene Gelehrte zum Wegbereiter der Frühaufklärung in Deutschland. Er setzte sich für eine humane Strafordnung ein und trug damit auch zur Abschaffung von Hexenprozessen und Folter bei. Im März 1690 wurde er in Leipzig mit einem Lehr- und Publikationsverbot belegt und siedelte daraufhin in das zu Brandenburg gehörende Halle über.
Dort wurde er zum Kurfürstlichen Rat ernannt. Darüber hinaus engagierte er sich als Gründungsmitglied der Juristischen Fakultät der Friedrichs-Universität in Halle, die am 11. Juli 1694 in der Ratswaage auf dem Marktplatz feierlich eröffnet wurde.
Das Grab von Christian Thomasius befindet sich auf dem Stadtgottesacker in Halle. Noch heute tragen in der Saalestadt eine Straße im Süden der Altstadt und mit dem Thomasianum auf dem Universitätsplatz auch ein Lehrgebäude der MLU seinen Namen.

Dr. Frank Grunert
Interdisziplinäres Zentrum für die Erforschung der Europäischen Aufklärung
Telefon: +49 345 55-21773
E-Mail: frank.grunert@izea.uni-halle.de

Kommentar schreiben

Auf unserer Webseite werden Cookies gemäß unserer Datenschutzerklärung verwendet. Wenn Sie weiter auf diesen Seiten surfen, erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Einverstanden