More money for digital teaching

10.01.2017 von Corinna Bertz in Study and Teaching, Campus
Equipped with around 6.5 million euros, the centre for multimedia teaching and learning (LLZ) will continue its work in April 2017. The funding will be made available until 2020 as part of the joint Federal-State programme “Quality Pact for Teaching”. Since it was established in 2012, the LLZ has already supported more than 450 projects to digitalise teaching at the University of Halle. The centre moves into the second stage of funding with a new director and a new working group.
More and more exams at the University of Halle are being taken on computers.
More and more exams at the University of Halle are being taken on computers. (Foto: LLZ)

Modernising the teaching at the University of Halle with the help of multimedia technology – this was the assignment that the centre for multimedial teaching and learning (LLZ) started work on four years ago at the University of Halle as part of the project “Studium multimedial” (“multimedial studies”). This is what it means exactly: Together with the teaching staff, the employees develop the offers at the centre for multimedia teaching and learning and help with their implementation.

“In the first two years we created the technical and legal bases as well as the necessary structures,” says LLZ Managing Director Dr Michael Gerth. A total of 6 million euros were made available in the first funding phase from 2012 to 2016. In September 2016 the university received a funding agreement for a further 6.5 million euros, with which the centre will be funded from 2017 to 2020 by the joint Federal-State programme “Quality Pact for Teaching”.

“In the second phase we want to reach even more teaching staff with our offers and have a greater presence within the faculties,” says Gerth. Even though around 500 lecturers at the university have used the services of the centre, there are still employees at the university who are unaware of them.

Students have sat a total of over 7,000 electronic exams

LLZ Managing Director Michael Gerth
LLZ Managing Director Michael Gerth
(Foto: Maike Glöckner)

Every faculty already has its permanent contact at the LLZ. Service offers for the digitisation of teaching are the focus of their work. Here an emphasis is placed on recording and compiling lecture videos. By now, 23 lecture theatres have been equipped with the necessary automatic recording technology for this. Around 500 courses are recorded every semester, which are then edited by the team at the LLZ and made available digitally. “User numbers are continually rising – in our experience numbers rise especially quickly just before the exam period,” Gerth reports.

By doing this, the university is also adapting its range of courses to a target group that is becoming increasingly heterogeneous. Whether international students or students with children – digital offers make studying easier for all groups because, with the help of recordings, they can organise their learning process to suit their individual needs, regardless of time and place. For Gerth these lecture videos also have another big advantage: “Thanks to the recordings, lecturers have material at their disposal which they can use to develop other courses.”

Lecturers can choose from a number of tools and formats to develop multimedia teaching projects. The spectrum ranges from a web-based system called “ARSnova”, which students can use to ask questions or vote through podcasts, and so-called screencasts (recordings of screen content) used to develop e-exams that are completed on a computer. The latter has been another focus of the LLZ since 2014.

Students at the University of Halle have sat a total of over 7,000 electronic exams. LLZ initiator Professor Josef Lukas has academically supported this latest topic through his research work. The psychologist, who acted as director up until his retirement in March 2016, developed the first German-language handbook on electronic exams with his co-workers at the LLZ.

Adaptive teaching and learning will be a focus

In June, the newly appointed psychologist Professor Torsten Schubert was chosen as Lukas' successor. The new LLZ director has announced that in the second funding phase the centre will be reinforced with a new research group: “It will promote research on the essentials and usage aspects of multimedia teaching and learning and, to this effect, also harness skills from cognitive psychology.” An interdisciplinary programme spanning all faculties is planned to support and group together relevant research activities at the University of Halle.

Digital learning affects a person’s cognitive properties and so many new research questions arise, such as: How does this learning change the memory and knowledge structures of the student? “The effects on memory processes and individual learning strategies again require an adjustment of the didactic teaching and learning approaches and at the same time impose new requirements on IT solutions for the development of adaptive learning environments and learning situations,” says Schubert.

Adaptive teaching and learning will be a focus of the new funding phase. Here the teaching content is adapted to the level of knowledge of the individual student. “'Adaptive' means that when a student cannot answer a test question, for example, they will receive the appropriate learning unit,” Michael Gerth explains.

Work on the first offers for adaptive teaching and learning is expected to begin in 2017 in cooperation with the Faculty of Geoscience and Geography.

Schlagwörter

Kommentar schreiben

Mehr Geld für digitale Lehre

10.01.2017 von Corinna Bertz in Studium und Lehre, Campus
Ausgestattet mit rund 6,5 Millionen Euro setzt das Zentrum für multimediales Lehren und Lernen (LLZ) an der Universität Halle seine Arbeit 2017 fort. Die Fördermittel werden im Rahmen des Bund-Länder-Programms „Qualitätspaktes Lehre“ bis 2020 zur Verfügung gestellt. Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2012 hat das LLZ bereits mehr als 450 Projekte zur Digitalisierung der Lehre an der Uni Halle begleitet. Mit einem neuen Direktor und einer neuen Arbeitsgruppe startet das Zentrum in die zweite Förderphase.
Immer mehr Prüfungen werden an der Uni Halle am Computer durchgeführt.
Immer mehr Prüfungen werden an der Uni Halle am Computer durchgeführt. (Foto: LLZ)

Die Lehre an der Uni Halle mit Hilfe multimedialer Angebote modernisieren – so lautete der Auftrag, mit dem das Zentrum für multimediales Lehren und Lernen (LLZ) im Rahmen des Projekts „Studium multimedial“ der Uni Halle vor vier Jahren seine Arbeit aufgenommen hat. Konkret heißt das: Gemeinsam mit den Lehrenden entwickeln die Mitarbeiter des Zentrums multimediale Lehr- und Lernangebote und unterstützen bei der Umsetzung.

„In den ersten zwei Jahren haben wir dafür die technischen und rechtlichen Grundlagen sowie die notwendigen Strukturen geschaffen“, sagt LLZ-Geschäftsführer Dr. Michael Gerth. Insgesamt 6 Millionen Euro standen in der ersten Förderphase von 2012 bis 2016 zur Verfügung. Im September 2016 hat die Universität einen Förderbescheid über weitere 6,5 Millionen Euro erhalten, mit denen das Zentrum von 2017 bis 2020 durch das Bund-Länder-Programm „Qualitätspakt Lehre“ gefördert wird.

„In der zweiten Förderphase wollen wir mit unseren Angeboten noch mehr Lehrende erreichen und an den Fakultäten präsenter sein“, so Gerth. Denn obwohl rund 500 Dozentinnen und Dozenten der Hochschule den Service des Zentrums genutzt haben, gebe es noch immer Uni-Beschäftigte, die es nicht kennen.

Bereits mehr als 7.000 elektronische Prüfungen absolviert

LLZ-Geschäftsführer Michael Gerth
LLZ-Geschäftsführer Michael Gerth
(Foto: Maike Glöckner)

Ein Schwerpunkt der Serviceangebote ist das Aufzeichnen und Erstellen von Lehrvideos: 23 Hörsäle sind mittlerweile mit der dafür notwendigen automatischen Aufzeichnungstechnik ausgerüstet. Rund 500 Veranstaltungen werden jedes Semester aufgezeichnet anschließend vom Team des LLZ bearbeitet und digital zur Verfügung gestellt. „Die Nutzerzahlen steigen kontinuierlich – kurz vor der Prüfungsphase erfahrungsgemäß besonders stark“, berichtet Gerth.

Damit passt die Hochschule ihr Lehrangebot auch der heterogener werdenden Zielgruppe an. Nicht nur internationalen Studierenden oder studierenden Eltern mit Kind erleichtern digitale Angebote das Studium, denn mit Hilfe der Aufzeichnungen können sie ihre Lernphasen individuell, zeit- und ortsunabhängig gestalten.

Bei der Entwicklung multimedialer Lehrprojekte können Lehrende aus einer Vielzahl von Werkzeuge und Formaten wählen: Die Bandbreite reicht von einem webbasierten System namens „ARSnova“, mit dem Studierende während der Vorlesung über ihr Smartphone Fragen stellen oder abstimmen können, über Podcasts und sogenannte Screencasts – Aufzeichnungen von Bildschirminhalten – bis zur Entwicklung von E-Klausuren, die am Computer absolviert werden. Letztere bilden seit 2014 einen weiteren Schwerpunkt am LLZ.

Insgesamt haben Studierende der Uni Halle bereits mehr als 7.000 elektronische Prüfungen absolviert. LLZ-Initiator Prof. Dr. Josef Lukas hat diesen noch jungen Themenbereich durch seine Forschungsarbeiten wissenschaftlich untersetzt: Der Psychologe, der dem Zentrum bis zu seiner Verabschiedung in den Ruhestand im März 2016 als Geschäftsführender Direktor vorstand, hat mit Mitarbeitern des LLZ das erste umfassende deutschsprachige Handbuch zu elektronischen Prüfungen erarbeitet.

Adaptives Lehren und Lernen als Schwerpunkt

Im Juni ist der neu berufene Psychologe Prof. Dr. Torsten Schubert als Lukas‘ Nachfolger gewählt worden. In der zweiten Förderphase werde das Zentrum nun durch eine neue Arbeitsgruppe verstärkt, kündigt der neue LLZ-Direktor an: „Sie soll die Forschung zu Grundlagen und Anwendungsaspekten des multimedialen Lernens und Lehrens fördern und zu diesem Zweck auch Kenntnisse aus der Kognitionspsychologie nutzbar machen.“ Geplant sei ein fakultätsübergreifendes Programm zur Unterstützung und Bündelung entsprechender Forschungsaktivitäten an der Uni Halle.

Digitales Lernen wirkt auf die kognitiven Eigenschaften des Menschen und daraus ergeben sich viele neue Forschungsfragen – etwa: Wie verändert dieses Lernen das Gedächtnis und die Wissensstrukturen des Lernenden? „Die Auswirkungen auf Gedächtnisprozesse und individuelle Lernstrategien erfordern wiederum eine Anpassung der didaktischen Lehr- und Lernansätze und stellen zugleich neue Anforderungen an IT-Lösungen bei der Entwicklung von adaptiven Lernumgebungen und Lernsituationen“, so Schubert.

Adaptives Lehren und Lernen wird ein Schwerpunkt der neuen Förderphase sein. Dabei werden die Lehrinhalte dem individuellen Wissensstand des Studierenden angepasst. „Adaptiv bedeutet, dass der Lernende, wenn er zum Beispiel eine Testfrage nicht beantworten kann, dann die dazu passende Lerneinheit erhält“, erläutert Michael Gerth.

„Aus der Grundlagenforschung weiß man, dass testendes Lernen zu besseren Ergebnissen führt als bloße Wissensvermittlung“, sagt Schubert. Die Arbeit an den ersten adaptiven Lehr- und Lernangeboten soll 2017 voraussichtlich in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Geowissenschaften und Geographie beginnen.

Kommentar schreiben