What remains

23.03.2017 von Corinna Bertz in Miscellaneous, Featured
There’s a Martin Luther Playmobile figure and a Martin Luther noodle. It’s hard to escape the reformer’s face during the 2017 jubilee year. But what does the Reformation have to do with the present day? A lot, say researchers from many disciplines at the University of Halle. Because the Reformation’s legacy extends far beyond that of theology.
It’s hard to escape the reformer’s face during the 2017 jubilee year.
It’s hard to escape the reformer’s face during the 2017 jubilee year. (Foto: behnelux gestaltung, unter Verwendung von Wikimedia Commons, User: Fa, Botaurus,CranachCCCP, Trzęsacz)

In the beginning, says Professor Hans-Joachim Solms, there is language. “It all starts with Luther’s Bible translation. It is the dawn of the modern age.” Luther’s 1545 Bible was a bestseller during the waning Middle Ages and helped to gradually develop Early High German into a supra-regional written language. “Luther gave a decisive boost to vernacular language, laying the foundations for the New High German that we speak today,” says the language historian. There had never been a standard German language.

“People found it difficult to understand others living just 30 miles away. Luther was aware of this himself. They spoke in dialect and even the written word – to the extent that there was any command of it – was regionally distinct.” It was primarily used by public officials and scholars, who very often wrote in Latin.

Scholars who widely travelled did, however, possess a “supra-regional language” which Luther capitalised on when translating the Holy Scripture into German, Solms explains. Wherever he could, the reformer chose words that could be understood across regions.

Luther's translation of the entire Bible into German was published in a six-part edition in 1534.
Luther's translation of the entire Bible into German was published in a six-part edition in 1534.
(Foto: Torsten Schleese/Wikipedia)

Even the printers in Wittenberg, who were the first to publish Luther’s writings, left their mark on our language. “They strove to achieve a standard form of spelling. The convention of capitalising nouns today asserted itself through its use in the Bible,” says the language historian. Solms and Professor Helmut Glück, a linguist from the University of Bamberg, are currently working on a third-party-funded project examining the extent to which Luther’s Bible translation influenced the development of Eastern European languages. Language was ultimately modelled after Luther’s Bible in broad stretches of Germany. Children learned to read and write in the spirit of the reformers, using this “Biblia Deudsch” and Luther’s catechism.

Even his church songs played a decisive role in disseminating Early New High German. “His musical poetry and scoring became an indispensable part of the Protestant hymn. From a music-history perspective, the Reformation can be regarded as the first major song movement of modern times,” says music educationalist Dr Christine Klein. “As a result, a group feeling and a common identity emerged,” adds Hans-Joachim Solms. People felt connected through the language of the Bible.

Education for all

Michael Domsgen
Michael Domsgen
(Foto: Jörg Hammerbacher)

The reformers believed that successful communication also meant that every believer should be able to study the Holy Scriptures themselves. By scripture alone – sola scriptura – the faithful could achieve their own access to God. In 1520 Luther wrote: “Shouldn’t every single Christian at age nine or ten know the Holy Gospel in which his name and his life is written?” The educational programme that he created for this purpose, together with “Germany’s teacher” Philipp Melanchthon, left an indelible mark on society.

“It is fair to say that the general idea of education in the sense of compulsory schooling has roots in the Reformation since, according to Luther’s way of thinking, every child – whether boy or girl – should learn to read the Holy Scripture,” observes religious education specialist Professor Michael Domsgen. “The reformers believed that every person could be and should be educated.” Furthermore, according to the reformers, the responsibility for education should no longer lie with the Church. Instead it should be the responsibility of secular rulers. The protestant princes developed an institutional education system, thereby laying the foundations for our general education system today.

Luther advocated for a science in which rational insight is placed above Christian dogmas. “The 95 theses were also an expression of a different understanding of science. Luther criticised the Catholic Church’s notion of science and denounced the conclusions drawn by scholasticism,” says theologian Dr Christian Senkel. After intensive study of the Bible, Luther was convinced by his own arguments; the Church was unable to provide him with any substantiated counterarguments. Moreover, he believed that the theological insight obtained by studying the Holy Scriptures superseded any earthly authority even though it was just as powerful. “[M]y conscience is captive to the Word of God. I cannot and I will not recant anything, for to go against conscience is neither right nor safe,” the reformer proclaimed to the emperor at the Diet of Worms in 1521.

“Luther was not the first person to develop this idea that mankind should follow his conscience before God and not before human authority,” says Michael Domsgen. “However, Luther was particularly prominent with his argumentation and actions.” Even now his remark “here I stand, I cannot do otherwise” remains unsubstantiated. Despite this, it is often cited in many languages as an expression of steadfastness and as proof of a freedom of conscience. Luther’s appearance in Worms and his refusal to act against his conscience led to his condemnation by Emperor Charles V. His writings could not be read or distributed. However, this condemnation increased demand for them even more. Soon his flyers and booklets were being printed everywhere.

Would Luther use Twitter?

(Grafik: behnelux gestaltung, unter Verwendung von Wikimedia Commons, User: Fa, Botaurus, CranachCCCP, Trzęsacz)
(Grafik: behnelux gestaltung, unter Verwendung von Wikimedia Commons, User: Fa, Botaurus, CranachCCCP, Trzęsacz)

The success of the Reformation would be unthinkable without book printing, which Johann Gutenberg revolutionised through his printing press. “In the beginning, Luther distanced himself from printing – his manuscripts were primarily distributed illegally – until he realised that he could achieve more through this new form of media,” says Dr Steffi Ebert an expert in media studies. The reformer now deliberately used them for his own purposes. “Luther reduced his message to simple, individual aspects. He added illustrations from Cranach’s workshop and attached a bookplate to each of his publications which stated: ‘A change is needed!’ It is precisely such media strategies which are successful today. “When we relate this process to digital media, Donald Trump acted in a similar way during the 2016 U.S. elections,” states Ebert.

She draws many parallels between then and now from the perspective of media science. “Digitalisation means we are experiencing another media upheaval that is changing everything. With every major invention in the history of the media, society is faced with the challenge of channelling excess information. New media is always an indication that a change in values is currently taking place.” The events from back then reveal how big the challenges we are currently facing really are. “We have to find a way of making new media serve us,” says Steffi Ebert.

What would Luther do if he were alive today? The expert in media studies is convinced: “He would tweet and berate the old media.” But what would his message be on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter? He found his insight, which ultimately changed the world, in a Roman letter: Mankind no longer needs to justify himself to God through specific actions; his faith alone makes him righteous before God. A half of a millennium later this statement no longer sends shockwaves. “What concerns people today are aspects of acceptance. Mankind is in constant search of acceptance,” says religious education specialist Michael Domsgen. “Luther’s perspective might have been: acceptance also means being able to regard oneself as accepted by God. Thus we have already been accepted. This also applies to our own limitations.”

Schlagwörter

Kommentar schreiben

Was bleibt?

23.03.2017 von Corinna Bertz in Varia, Im Fokus
Martin Luther gibt es als Playmobil-Figur und als Nudelmotiv. Niemand entkommt dem Antlitz des Reformators im Jubiläumsjahr 2017. Aber was hat die Reformation noch mit der Gegenwart zu tun? Jede Menge, sagen Wissenschaftler der Universität Halle aus ganz unterschiedlichen Disziplinen. Denn das Vermächtnis der Reformation reicht weit über die Theologie hinaus.
Niemand entkommt dem Anlitz Martin Luthers im Jahr des Reformationsjubiläums
Niemand entkommt dem Anlitz Martin Luthers im Jahr des Reformationsjubiläums (Foto: behnelux gestaltung, unter Verwendung von Wikimedia Commons, User: Fa, Botaurus,CranachCCCP, Trzęsacz)

Am Anfang steht für Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Solms das Wort: „Das Neue fängt mit Luthers Bibelübersetzung an. Mit ihr beginnt die Neuzeit.“ Mit der Lutherbibel von 1545, dem Bestseller des ausgehenden Mittelalters, entwickelt sich das Frühneuhochdeutsche allmählich zu einer überregionalen Schriftsprache: „Luther hat der Volkssprachlichkeit damit den entscheidenden Schub gegeben und die Grundlage für das Neuhochdeutsch geschaffen, das wir heute sprechen“, sagt der Sprachhistoriker. Eine einheitliche deutsche Sprache hatte es zuvor nicht gegeben.

„Auf 30 Meilen Entfernung konnten sich die Menschen kaum verstehen, hatte Luther selbst schon vermerkt. Sie sprachen ausschließlich Dialekt, und auch die geschriebene Sprache – sofern sie jemand überhaupt beherrschte – war regional geprägt.“ Sie wurde vor allem von Amtsträgern und Gelehrten genutzt, die sehr oft noch in Latein schrieben.

Weit gereiste Gelehrte besaßen jedoch durchaus schon eine „überregionale Mündlichkeit“, die sich Luther bei der Übersetzung der Heiligen Schrift ins Deutsche zunutze machte, erzählt Solms. Dem Reformator ging es um Worte, die möglichst überregional verständlich waren.

Die erste vollständige Bibelübersetzung von Martin Luther wurde 1534 gedruckt.
Die erste vollständige Bibelübersetzung von Martin Luther wurde 1534 gedruckt.
(Foto: Torsten Schleese/Wikipedia)

Und auch die Wittenberger Drucker, die Luthers Schriften als erste publizierten, haben ihre Spuren in unserer Sprache hinterlassen: „Sie bemühten sich um eine Vereinheitlichung der Rechtschreibung. Dass wir heute Substantive groß schreiben, hat sich durch den Gebrauch in der Bibel durchgesetzt“, so Solms, der zurzeit zusammen mit dem Sprachwissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Helmut Glück von der Universität Bamberg in einem Drittmittelprojekt erforscht, inwieweit Luthers Bibelübersetzung die Entwicklung osteuropäischer Sprachen beeinflusst hat. In weiten Teilen Deutschlands wurde schließlich die Sprache der Lutherbibel zum Vorbild. Kinder erlernten das Lesen und Schreiben, ganz im Sinne der Reformatoren, anhand dieser „Biblia Deudsch“ sowie anhand von Luthers Katechismus.

Auch seine Kirchenlieder trugen entscheidend zur Verbreitung des Frühneuhochdeutschen bei. „Seine Lieddichtungen und Vertonungen sind zum unentbehrlichen Kern des evangelischen Chorals geworden. Aus musikhistorischer Sicht ist die Reformation sogar als eine erste große Liedbewegung der Neuzeit zu betrachten“, erläutert die Musikpädagogin Dr. Christine Klein. „Damit entstand auch das Gefühl einer Gruppe und einer gemeinsamen Identität“, ergänzt Hans-Joachim Solms. Über die Sprache der Bibel habe man sich verbunden gefühlt.

Bildung für alle

Michael Domsgen
Michael Domsgen
(Foto: Jörg Hammerbacher)

Zur erfolgreichen Kommunikation gehörte es für die Reformatoren aber auch, jeden Gläubigen in die Lage zu versetzen, selbst die Heilige Schrift zu studieren. Denn allein durch die Schrift – sola scriptura – könnten sich die Gläubigen selbst einen Zugang zu Gott schaffen. „Sollte nicht angemessenerweise jeder einzelne Christenmensch mit neun oder zehn Jahren das heilige Evangelium kennen, worin sein Name und sein Leben steht?“, schrieb Luther 1520. Das Bildungsprogramm, das er zu diesem Zweck gemeinsam mit dem „Lehrer Deutschlands“ Philipp Melanchthon schuf, veränderte die Gesellschaft dauerhaft.

„Man kann durchaus sagen, dass auch das Volksbildungsdenken im Sinn einer allgemeinen Schulpflicht reformatorische Wurzeln hat, da nach Luthers Vorstellung jedes Kind – egal ob Junge oder Mädchen – die Heilige Schrift lesen lernen sollte“, stellt der Religionspädagoge Prof. Dr. Michael Domsgen fest. „Für die Reformatoren war jeder Mensch bildungsfähig und bildungswürdig.“ Außerdem sollte die Verantwortung für das Bildungswesen nach ihrer Ansicht nicht länger bei der Kirche liegen, sondern bei den weltlichen Herrschern. Die evangelischen Fürsten bauten ein institutionelles Bildungswesen auf und legten damit die Grundlage für unser heutiges allgemeinbildendes Schulsystem.

Luther setzte sich aber auch für eine Wissenschaft ein, in der die rationale Erkenntnis über den christlichen Dogmen steht. „Die 95 Thesen waren auch Ausdruck eines anderen Verständnisses von Wissenschaft. Luther kritisierte das Wissenschaftsverständnis der katholischen Kirche und verurteilte die Schlüsse der Scholastik“, sagt der Theologe Dr. Christian Senkel. Luther sei nach dem intensiven Studium der Bibel von der Kraft seiner eigenen Argumente überzeugt gewesen, die Kirche habe ihm keine sachlichen Gegenargumente liefern können. Zudem: Die theologische Erkenntnis – aus dem Studium der Heiligen Schrift gewonnen – steht für ihn über jeder irdischen Autorität – sei sie noch so mächtig: „[M]ein Gewissen ist gebunden in Gottes Wort. Daher kann und will ich nichts widerrufen, weil wider das Gewissen etwas zu tun weder sicher noch heilsam ist“, sagt der Reformator 1521 vor dem Kaiser auf dem Reichstag zu Worms.

„Den Gedanken, dass der Mensch gegenüber seinem Gewissen vor Gott verpflichtet ist und nicht gegenüber menschlichen Autoritäten, hat Luther zwar nicht als erster entwickelt“, sagt Michael Domsgen. „Aber Luther war mit seiner Argumentation und seinem Vorgehen besonders prominent.“ Bis heute ist sein Ausspruch „Hier stehe ich, ich kann nicht anders“ nicht belegt. Dennoch wird er in vielen Sprachen gern als Ausdruck von Standhaftigkeit und Zeugnis der Gewissensfreiheit zitiert. Luthers Auftritt in Worms und die Weigerung, gegen sein Gewissen zu handeln, führen zur Ächtung durch Kaiser Karl V. Seine Schriften dürfen weder gelesen, noch verbreitet werden. Aber die Ächtung steigert die Nachfrage immer weiter. Bald werden seine Flugschriften und Hefte überall gedruckt.

Würde Luther heute twittern?

(Grafik: behnelux gestaltung, unter Verwendung von Wikimedia Commons, User: Fa, Botaurus, CranachCCCP, Trzęsacz)
(Grafik: behnelux gestaltung, unter Verwendung von Wikimedia Commons, User: Fa, Botaurus, CranachCCCP, Trzęsacz)

Ohne den Buchdruck, den Johann Gutenberg mit seiner Druckerpresse revolutioniert, wäre der Erfolg der Reformation undenkbar: „Luther hat sich mit dem Drucken anfangs eher zurückgehalten. Seine Schriften wurden vor allem illegal verbreitet. Bis er erkannte, dass er über die neuen Medien mehr erreichen kann“, sagt die Medienwissenschaftlerin Dr. Steffi Ebert. Der Reformator habe sie nun ganz bewusst eingesetzt und für seine Zwecke genutzt: „Luther hat seine Botschaft auf einzelne, einfache Aspekte reduziert. Er hat sie um Illustrationen aus der Cranach-Werkstatt ergänzt und jede seiner Publikationen mit dem Label versehen: ‚Es ist ein Wandel notwendig!‘.“ Genau diese Medienstrategie werde auch heute noch erfolgreich bedient: „Wenn wir dieses Vorgehen auf die digitalen Medien beziehen, hat Donald Trump im US-Wahlkampf 2016 ganz ähnlich gehandelt“, sagt Ebert.

Die Medienwissenschaftlerin sieht viele Parallelen zwischen damals und heute: „Mit der Digitalisierung erleben wir wieder einen medialen Umbruch, der alles verändert. Mit jeder großen Erfindung der Mediengeschichte steht die Gesellschaft vor der Herausforderung, den Überschuss an Informationen zu kanalisieren. Neue Medien sind stets auch ein Indiz dafür, dass gerade ein Wertewandel stattfindet.“ Die Ereignisse von damals zeigten, wie groß die Herausforderungen sind, vor denen wir heute stehen. „Wir müssen einen Weg finden, uns die neuen Medien zu Diensten zu machen.“

Was würde Luther tun, würde er heute leben? „Er würde twittern und die alten Medien beschimpfen“, ist Ebert überzeugt. Aber welche Botschaft würde er über Facebook, Instagram oder Twitter verbreiten? Seine Erkenntnis, die schließlich die Welt veränderte, fand er im Römerbrief: Der Mensch müsse sich nicht länger durch bestimmte Taten vor Gott rechtfertigen, er sei bereits durch seinen Glauben vor Gott gerecht.500 Jahre später erschüttert diese Aussage keinen mehr. „Was den Menschen heute umtreibt, sind Aspekte der Anerkennung. Der Mensch ist beständig auf der Suche nach Anerkennung“, sagt der Religionspädagoge Michael Domsgen. „Luthers Perspektive darauf wäre vielleicht: Anerkennung heißt auch, sich von Gott als anerkannt sehen zu können. Wir sind also bereits anerkannt. Das gilt auch mit Blick auf eigene Begrenzungen.“ 

Kategorien

VariaIm Fokus

Weitere Artikel zum Thema

Kommentar schreiben