Luther's legacy

21.09.2016 von Michael Deutsch in Miscellaneous
“How soon ‘not now’ becomes ‘never’!” Half a millennium ago, the eloquent reformer Martin Luther probably spoke like this to anyone he found wasting precious time. Today, the Wittenberg scholar and author of the 95 theses would certainly have no need to use such words of warning. In fact, he would have nothing but praise for the staff at his alma mater in 2016 who are busy preparing the celebrations marking the 500-year jubilee of the Reformation.
Custodian Michael Ruprecht and Susann Fritsche packing a rector’s sceptre that was included in the Luther exhibitions “Here I stand…”, staged at three venues in the United States from October 2016 to January 2017.
Custodian Michael Ruprecht and Susann Fritsche packing a rector’s sceptre that was included in the Luther exhibitions “Here I stand…”, staged at three venues in the United States from October 2016 to January 2017. (Foto: Michael Deutsch)

Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg is playing a special role in next year’s events marking Luther’s remarkable role in world history. Half a millennium ago, Martin Luther was a theology professor at the old University of Wittenberg – the “Leucorea” – from where he sparked the world-changing Reformation. As a consequence of the Congress of Vienna in 1815, the Leucorea was moved to Halle, where it became part of the “United Friedrich University” in 1817. Thus Halle inherited Luther’s legacy. And that is a great responsibility. As well as pursuing research into the history of the Reformation and organising the congress planned for August 2017 on the “Cultural Impact of the Reformation”, the University of Halle also participated in the Luther exhibitions “Here I stand”, which opened at three venues in the United States in October 2016.

The State Museum of Prehistory in Halle, the Luther Memorials Foundation of Saxony-Anhalt and other partners collaborated with three American museums to realise three related but different exhibitions on the life and work of the famous reformer. The exhibitions were held at the Minneapolis Institute of Art, the Morgan Library & Museum in New York, and the Pitts Theology Library at Emory University in Atlanta. “Right now, just before the Reformation jubilee, the museums and memorials here have been swept clean of anything Luther-related,” said Dr Michael Ruprecht, head of the university archives in Halle and the custodium.

“Wittenberg is the cradle of the Reformation”

The University of Halle and the University and State Library Saxony-Anhalt (ULB) have also contributed loans. “The main theme is the Leucorea, the university founded by Elector Frederick III in 1502,” says historian Ruprecht. “It was the centre – indeed, the cradle – of the Reformation.” The ULB loaned two particularly valuable artefacts from Wittenberg: the first register of the University of Wittenberg, with an entry from 1508 bearing the name “Friar Martinus Luder of Mansfeldt”; and a booklet printed in Wittenberg in 1518 with Luther’s notes on his 95 theses.

Sending such important exhibits overseas is no everyday event; some of the university’s most precious, most carefully guarded items have left Halle. They include the University of Wittenberg’s founding charter, signed by Emperor Maximilian in 1502; papal confirmation of the foundation signed in 1507; and a seal dating from 1514, used by the university’s first rector to seal official documents. The valuable cargo also contains the four oldest rector’s sceptres, which date back to 1502 and 1509 and are priceless. “We had long discussions about whether we really wanted to send the originals,” says Ruprecht. “After all, there are duplicates.”

In the end, there was general agreement that much of the charm of an exhibition derives from the authenticity of its artefacts. “The Americans who hold Luther in such high esteem expect the originals.” But it is a risky undertaking. Expert Michael Stache, who works at the main repository of the university’s natural science collections, designed special crates for transporting the items to America. By performing a 3D scan of the sceptres, Stache and his team were able to carve moulds of precisely the right size and shape into the packaging material inside the crates. “That’s the most secure transport packaging the sceptres have ever had,” says Ruprecht.

A public conference on "The Cultural Impact of the Reformation"

The valuable cargo also contains the four oldest rector’s sceptres, which date back to 1502 and 1509 and are priceless.
The valuable cargo also contains the four oldest rector’s sceptres, which date back to 1502 and 1509 and are priceless.
(Foto: Michael Deutsch)

But why does the University of Halle actually have so few artefacts relating to Luther? Professor Ernst-Joachim Waschke, the representative for the Reformation jubilee and chairman of the board of the Leucorea Foundation in Wittenberg, knows the answer to that question. “Of course the Leucorea was Luther’s university. He was here from 1513 to 1546,” says Waschke. The fact that other locations have more artefacts is a result of the Schmalkaldic War of 1546.

When the Elector lost that war, he was forced to give up some Ernestine territories to the Albertine princes. These included Wittenberg. “The Albertines withdrew to their Thuringian territories and founded their own university in Jena. They took Luther’s old library from Wittenberg with them,” says Waschke. He is working with theologian Dr Christian Senkel to prepare the congress on the “Cultural Impact of the Reformation”.

The public conference, which runs from 7 to 11 August 2017, is being jointly organised by the universities of Halle, Jena and Leipzig. Thanks to state funding, the university has been able to award five grants to researchers working on the themes of the congress. The Reformation History Society was founded in 2006. In the society, 18 academics from a diverse range of disciplines work together to find answers to specific questions or to formulate the right questions in the first place.

The congress and the society will serve as cornerstones for establishing the Leucorea Foundation as a global hub for Reformation history research. Ernst-Joachim Waschke sees Luther as inextricably linked to Wittenberg, and calls on academics, businesses and politicians to make better use of this historical advantage. “Wittenberg is the cradle of the Reformation – there is no doubt about that.” More commitment is needed to make the most of that, says Waschke. What might Luther have said? Perhaps: “Only someone who makes decisions truly lives.” 

 

Kategorien

Miscellaneous

Schlagwörter

Kommentar schreiben

Luthers Erbe

21.09.2016 von Michael Deutsch in Varia
„Wer etwas will anfangen, der mag es beizeiten tun.“ So plauzte der schlagfertige Reformator Martin Luther vor einem halben Jahrtausend wohl jeden an, der im Umgang mit kostbarer Zeit sündigte. Ganz sicher wäre der Reformator, der am 31. Oktober 1517 seine 95 Thesen gegen den Missbrauch des Ablasshandels an die Tür der Wittenberger Schlosskirche gehämmert haben soll, heute zufrieden. Zufrieden mit den guten Geistern seiner Alma Mater, die das 500-jährige Reformationsjubiläum mit vorbereiten.
Kustos Michael Ruprecht und Susann Fritsche verpacken ein Rektoren-Zepter, das ab Oktober in als Teil der Lutherausstellung "Here I stand" in die USA zu sehen ist.
Kustos Michael Ruprecht und Susann Fritsche verpacken ein Rektoren-Zepter, das ab Oktober in als Teil der Lutherausstellung "Here I stand" in die USA zu sehen ist. (Foto: Michael Deutsch)

Beim großen Luther-Event 2017 spielt die Martin-Luther-Universität, die seit 83 Jahren den Namen des Reformators trägt, eine Sonderrolle. Ein halbes Jahrtausend ist es her, dass Luther als Theologieprofessor an der alten Wittenberger Universität – Leucorea genannt – lehrte und von hier aus die weltverändernde Reformation in Bewegung setzte. Als mit dem Wiener Kongress die Leucorea schließlich nach Halle verlegt und dort 1817 Teil der Vereinigten Friedrichs-Universität Halle-Wittenberg wurde, trat man quasi das geistige Erbe Luthers an. Und das verpflichtet. Neben regen Forschungsaktivitäten zur Reformationsgeschichte und der damit einhergehenden Ausrichtung des im August 2017 geplanten Weltkongresses zum Thema „Kulturelle Wirkungen der Reformation“ beteiligt sich die Uni Halle auch an der Lutherausstellung „Here I stand“, die Anfang Oktober in den USA gestartet ist.

Das Landesmuseum für Vorgeschichte Halle, die Stiftung Luthergedenkstätten in Sachsen-Anhalt und weitere Partner realisieren gemeinsam mit drei US-amerikanischen Museen drei Ausstellungen zum Leben und Wirken des Reformators. Die Ausstellungen laufen im Minneapolis Institute of Art, im Morgan Library & Museum in New York sowie in der Pitts Theology Library der Emory University Atlanta. „Man kann getrost behaupten, dass kurz vorm Reformationsjubiläum die hiesige Museums- und Gedenkstättenlandschaft ,Luther-leer‘ gefegt ist“, scherzt der Leiter des halleschen Universitätsarchivs und der Zentralen Kustodie Dr. Michael Ruprecht. Kein Wunder. „Fast alle bedeutsamen Exponate sind zu dieser Zeit in den USA.“

„Die Wittenberger Universität war die Wiege der Reformation“

Auch die Uni Halle und die Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek Sachsen-Anhalt (ULB) ist mit Leihgaben vertreten. „Vom Thema steht die 1502 vom Kurfürst Friedrich III. gegründete Wittenberger Universität Leucorea im Mittelpunkt. Sie war das Zentrum, ja die Wiege der Reformation“, betont der Historiker. Zwei besonders wertvolle Exponate aus Wittenberg steuert die ULB bei: Das erste Matrikelband der Universität Wittenberg, in dem für das Jahr 1508 auch ein gewisser fr. Martinus Luder des Mansfeldt eingetragen wurde, sowie ein 1518 in Wittenberg gedrucktes Pappheftchen mit Luthers Erläuterungen seiner 95 Thesen.

Man merkt schnell, dass der museale Exponate-Transfer nach Übersee keine Routine ist. Die kostbarsten, stets sicher verwahrten Stücke der Universität verlassen Halle. Mit dabei sind die Gründungsurkunde Kaiser Maximilians für die Uni Wittenberg von 1502, die päpstliche Bestätigung der Gründung aus dem Jahr 1507 sowie das Siegeltypar des ersten Rektors von 1514 zum Siegeln von Urkunden. Zur wertvollen Fracht gesellen sich zudem die vier ältesten Rektoren-Zepter aus den Jahren 1502 und 1509. Ihr Wert: unschätzbar. „Wir haben lange beraten, ob wir wirklich die Originale hergeben. Es gibt schließlich auch Duplikate“, sagt der 37-Jährige.

Doch man war sich einig, dass der Charme einer solchen Ausstellung von echten Leihgaben lebt. „Mit nichts anderem rechnen auch die Amerikaner, die Luther verehren.“ Dennoch gehe man ein hohes Risiko ein. Eigens für den Transport hat der Präparator Michael Stache vom Zentralmagazin Naturwissenschaftlicher Sammlungen deshalb Spezialkisten angefertigt. Durch einen 3-D-Scan der Zepter konnten die inwendigen Dämmmaterialien passgenau ausgefräst werden. „Das ist die sicherste Transportverpackung, die es für die Zepter je gab“, sagt Ruprecht.

Universitätsverbund lädt zum Weltkongress

The valuable cargo also contains the four oldest rector’s sceptres, which date back to 1502 and 1509 and are priceless.
The valuable cargo also contains the four oldest rector’s sceptres, which date back to 1502 and 1509 and are priceless.
(Foto: Michael Deutsch)

Doch warum gibt es an der Martin-Luther-Universität eigentlich so wenig Handfestes von Luther? Das kann Prof. Dr. Ernst-Joachim Waschke, der Rektoratsbeauftragte fürs Reformationsjubiläum und Vorstandsvorsitzender der Stiftung Leucorea in Wittenberg, beantworten. „Natürlich war die Leucorea Luthers Universität. Hier war er von 1513 bis 1546“, sagt der 67-Jährige. Dass andere Standorte mehr Exponate besitzen, hänge mit dem Schmalkaldischen Krieg von 1546 zusammen.

Durch diesen ging das Ernestinische Wittenberg an das Fürstengeschlecht der Albertiner verloren. „Die Albertiner zogen sich auf ihre thüringischen Gebiete zurück und gründeten ihre Hochschule in Jena. Dabei nahmen sie die alte Bibliothek Luthers aus Wittenberg mit. Wichtige Lutherschriften finden sich deshalb heute in Jena, Coburg, Dresden und Weimar“, sagt Waschke, der zurzeit gemeinsam mit dem Theologen PD Dr. Christian Senkel den Weltkongress zum Thema „Kulturelle Wirkungen der Reformation“ vorbereitet.

Die öffentliche Tagung, die vom 7. bis 11. August 2017 läuft, wird im Verbund der drei Unis Halle, Jena und Leipzig ausgerichtet. Rund 250 Gäste aus zehn Ländern, darunter aus Afrika, Lateinamerika und den USA, werden erwartet. Bereits 2006 wurde auf Initiative von Rektor Prof. Dr. Udo Sträter die Reformationsgeschichtliche Sozietät gegründet. 18 Wissenschaftler aus den unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen suchen im Diskurs nach Antworten oder verhelfen dazu, Fragen richtig zu stellen. „Die alte Frage ,In welchem Ausmaß war die Reformation auch ein politisches Ereignis?‘ taucht auf alle Fälle im Kongress auf“, verrät Senkel. Dank Landes-Förderung konnte die Universität auch fünf Stipendien für Forschungsarbeiten zur Kongress-Thematik vergeben.

Der Kongress und die Sozietät sind Eckpfeiler, um die Stiftung Leucorea weltweit als ein Zentrum für reformationshistorische Forschungen zu etablieren. Für Ernst-Joachim Waschke ist Luther untrennbar mit Wittenberg verbunden. Er appelliert an Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik diesen historischen Bonus besser auszuspielen. „Wittenberg ist die Wiege der Reformation“. Daran gibt es nichts zu rütteln. Das Bekenntnis hierfür müsse noch deutlicher ausfallen. Was hätte wohl Luther dazu gesagt? Vielleicht: „Nur, wer sich entscheidet, existiert.“ 

Kategorien

Varia

Kommentar schreiben